Squat, Training, Workout Plan

NEVER STOP LEARNING

For me, one of the greatest things about fitness is that it is an ever changing and evolving field.  New studies are constantly being done, new training techniques (good and bad) are created, the opportunities for improving yourself never cease!


I love reading up on what the newest information is, in fact I get a bit sad that I can’t try out all the different protocols immediately to see what works and what doesn’t.  Two of the best sources of continuous quality information regarding training can be found at from Bret Contreras aka The Glute Guy and T-Nation.  Check them out, you won’t regret it and you may even learn a thing or two 😉

But I digress from my main point of this post!  I think one of the least utilized forms of improvement for the “experienced” lifter are other experienced lifters!  No matter how long you have been doing weight training you most likely have a weak exercise that you hate because it’s hard, you can’t progress, it constantly causes pain, etc.  Don’t lie to yourself, we all have one.  For me, it’s the squat.  I hate to squat.  It always causes knees pain and valgus collapse.  In short, for me it sucks.  But as a trainer, I know correct form, so why can’t I get this problem sorted so I can improve my squat?!

Enter those other experienced lifters I was talking about earlier.  I have a friend at the gym who is a competitive powerlifter, about the same size and weight as me.  He has been powerlifting for about 15 years and can take 200kg ass to grass.  I finally put my pride to the side today and asked him to correct my technique on my squat.  In a couple of minutes and by correcting my footing by just a couple of inches, my knees no longer collapsed and I could do a full range of motion squat without knee pain.  He knew better than me and I am not afraid to admit that.

Full-Squat

Most other lifters in the gym would be more than willing to help you out if you ask.  The biggest guy there didn’t get that way easily, ask him his main exercises for whatever body part you want to grow.  Squats and deadlifts require great technique, which powerlifters are masters at.  Put your pride to the side, learn from others, and share your knowledge as well.

Standard

Leave a comment